Saturday, September 30, 2023
Courthouse News Service
Saturday, September 30, 2023 | Back issues
Courthouse News Service Courthouse News Service

N. Dakota County Jumps|to Central Time Zone

WASHINGTON (CN) - The Department of Transportation has moved the Central Standard Time Zone line to include all of Mercer County, North Dakota.

Mercer County had been in the Mountain Time zone.

A request by the Board of County Commissioners for Mercer County the early 2000s spurred much controversy, and was denied in 2003.

The Department of Transportation made the current decision based on most of the county's commercial contacts being with Bismark, which is in the Central Time Zone. "Having Mercer County on central time should alleviate much of the confusion and scheduling complexity that have become a part of many residents' daily lives," according to the agency.

Click the document icon for this regulation and others.

Categories / Uncategorized

Read the Top 8

Sign up for the Top 8, a roundup of the day's top stories delivered directly to your inbox Monday through Friday.