Governor Signs Abortion Limits Into Law in S.C.

     (CN) – South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley signed legislation on Wednesday that outlaws most abortions in South Carolina at 20 weeks into a pregnancy.
     The only exceptions written into the law are cases in which the mother’s life is in jeopardy or a doctor determines the fetus cannot survive outside the womb.
     The sponsor of bill, state Rep. Wendy Nanney, said she sees the law as a step toward eventually “get rid of abortion altogether.”
     The law, which took effect as soon as Haley finished signing it, ties the fetus’ age to conception, rather than a women’s monthly cycle.
     However, because this date cannot be pinpointed with absolute certainty, the ban actually refers to what doctor’s consider a gestational age of 22 weeks.
     Doctors who perform abortions past that point, in situations where the exceptions do not apply, face up to $10,000 in fines and 3 years in prison for each violation.
     Bans like South Carolina’s are now in effect in at least 13 states; they are blocked by court challenges in three others.

%d bloggers like this: