Wednesday, September 27, 2023
Courthouse News Service
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 | Back issues
Courthouse News Service Courthouse News Service

Gray Wolf

WASHINGTON (CN) - The gray wolf's Endangered Species Act protections have been reinstated in the western Great Lakes and the northern Rocky Mountains, in response to two federal court rulings.

In July, the District Court for Montana enjoined the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's final rule regarding the northern Rocky Mountain gray wolf. The D.C. Circuit Court followed in September, remanding the decision to delist populations in the western Great Lakes area.

The service has decided to revert to its previous regulations, re-extending endangered status to gray wolves in Wisconsin, Michigan, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Washington, Oregon, Utah, the Idaho panhandle, and northern Montana.

Click the document icon on the front page for details and links to the regulations. The document icon under the "Endangered Species, OSHA & More" heading leads to other new regulations.

Categories / Uncategorized

Read the Top 8

Sign up for the Top 8, a roundup of the day's top stories delivered directly to your inbox Monday through Friday.