California Chief Justice Appoints New Judicial Council Members

California Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye addresses lawmakers at her annual State of the Judiciary on March 10, 2020. (Penne Soltysik, Judicial Council of California)

SAN FRANCISCO (CN) — California Supreme Court Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye shifted the make-up of the state’s rule-making body for the courts with a wave of Judicial Council appointments Thursday.

Cantil-Sakauye appointed Supreme Court Justice Carol Corrigan to fill the vacancy left by Supreme Court Justice Ming Chen, who retired on Aug. 31. She co-chaired the Commission on the Future of California’s Court System, a group Cantil-Sakauye tasked in 2015 with plotting the course of California’s trial courts for the next 10 years. Corrigan also chairs the council’s jury instruction task force.

Presiding Judge Kevin Brazile of Los Angeles Superior Court will succeed Judge Eric Taylor, also of Los Angeles, as a voting member of the council. 

Brazile previously served a one-year term on the council in 2017-18. He co-chairs the Advisory Committee for Providing Access and Fairness and has been on the council’s Civil and Small Claims Advisory Committee. 

Orange County Superior Court Commissioner Glenn Mondo, Court Executive Officer Rebecca Fleming of Santa Clara County Superior Court, and Court Executive Officer Shawn Landry of Yolo County Superior Court will join the council as non-voting members.

Cantil-Sakauye also named Orange County Superior Court Judge Thomas Delaney to a non-voting spot on the council as president of the California Judges Association.

Justice Harry Hull of the Third District Court of Appeal was reappointed to another three-year term. He heads the council’s Rules & Projects Committee, a position he’s held since 2011.

Judge Marla Anderson of Monterey County Superior Court was also reappointed to a three-year term as a voting member. Anderson has been on the council since 2014 and she currently chairs the Legislation Committee. She was also a member of the Futures Commission.

Judge Stacey Boulware Eurie of Sacramento County Superior Court will also serve another three-year term on the council. She chairs a workgroup formed in 2018 to recommend changes to how the judicial branch addresses workplace harassment in the courts. She was also a member of the Futures Commission.

Judge Harold Hopp of Riverside County Superior Court, a member of the Legislation Committee and Budget Committee, also received a three-year reappointment.

Presiding Judge Joyce Hinrichs of Humboldt County Superior Court and Justice Carin Fujisaki of the First District Court of Appeal will serve as advisory members on the council for one year; Hinrichs in her role as chair of the Trial Court Presiding Judges Advisory Committee.

%d bloggers like this: